Home » Awkward Poetry » It is Difficult

It is Difficult

 As I’ve said before, I enjoy structure in my pleasure writing – haikus, sonnets, whatever – I find them more fun for the challenge of the structure that is necessary.

I also create poems out of spam, lovingly called my Spam Haikus, which is pretty self-explanatory. Here is something a little different – this one started as a haiku, but there were so many cool words that I wanted to incorporate that I had to make it longer, so it’s more like my other versions of spam haikus.

I do this because I enjoy it, and it gives me a little mental exercise that is lacking in my day-to-day work life. It’s nice to get out and stretch every now and again, isn’t it?

It is difficult –
Your desires are vivid,
Little and ambitious.

Your usual delight
is juicy and simple –
Happy to use
a mass of fact for relaxation.

Better off saying “no”,
Sparing time and dreams
that can require
urgent and difficult
thinking.

One thought on “It is Difficult

Leave a Reply

