Home » Life Chats » Things Women Do that Men Would Never Think Of

Things Women Do that Men Would Never Think Of

It’s hard to be a women. Not in a have-to-do-your-hair-every-day, wearing high heels, PMS kind of way; I’m talking about the things that women know and understand about being a women that men could never even dream of, things we do to keep ourselves safe from would be muggers or rapists, things that we learn from an early age to do. You look both ways to cross the street? We count the men on the street in case we get attacked.

  1. I am always aware of what I’m wearing, and how that can be seen by strangers.
  2. I have watched several videos on how to get out of zip tie handcuffs, and I’m pretty sure I could do it if I needed to.
  3. If I’m ever put into the trunk of a car, I know to try to pop out the tail light and wave my arm out – then someone will hopefully see it and call the police, while the driver will never know. In fact, I just bought a car that includes a release handle in the trunk for this very reason.
  4. I always have my keys ready when walking to my car – I don’t want to waste time trying to get in if someone comes after me.
  5. If a mugger comes up to me, I throw my wallet/purse, because if that’s all he wants, he’ll go after it and leave me alone.
  6. If someone is firing a gun at me, I know that running in a straight line is the worst thing you can do – zig and zag, because the chances of them accurately hitting you are slim.
  7. I took Miss Congeniality seriously – Sternum, Instep, Nose, Groin. And I will always go for the Groin.
  8. I will never park next to a large or windowless vehicle. I would rather walk further in a parking lot than take a chance.
  9. Strangers walking up to me for any reason makes me nervous. If I’m alone, I will blow them off as quickly as possible, and make sure that they never get within arm’s reach.
  10. I watch shows like Criminal Minds not only because I enjoy them, but because they give me ideas on how creepy people will come up to me, and I can think of ways to avoid them.

This is by no means a full list, and it doesn’t mean that women who don’t do these things deserve something to happen to them; I just hope it opens some eyes and possibly prevents someone from putting themselves in a situation without knowing how to get out.

I also hope that it clues men in a bit – walking up to women in the parking lot is scary for them, even if it isn’t for you. Keep in mind how the things you say and do will be seen by a woman who doesn’t know you.

Leave a Reply

